Happy new list
January 24, 2023

25 artists to watch this year

Liv.e/Akai Solo

Pitchfork has chosen 25 artists they’re "keeping a keen eye on this year... from twisted R&B auteur Liv.e to club rap regenerator Bandmanrill to indie rock realists Wednesday". Some are quite new in music like Akai Solo, and Grace Ives, a few have been around for a while but this year just might be the one for them, like Yasmin Williams, and Soul Glo.


Hypnotic Brass Ensemble 'Soon It Will Be Fire' features Moses Sumney, a nearly sacral piece; UK rapper Berwyn offers a lovely hip-hop ballad 'Rubber Bands'; The Mountain Goats share superbly titled 'The Slow Parts On Death Metal Albums'; Hazel English fulfilled her dream - she moved to California and covered 'California Dreamin'', a way too pretty song and a way to nice a cover not to pick it out; AKAI SOLO and Navy Blue share psychedelic rap 'Ocean Hue Hours'; Resynator is a documentary about "a daughter connecting with her late father through the resurrection of a synthesizer from the 1970s that he invented", featuring The National's Matt Berninger and Ronboy doing 'Only a Broken Heart'; The Pleasure Dome share noisy punk 'Pretty Picture'; Wolf Alice keep on promising - 'No Hard Feelings' comes ahead of their new album, out in June; Shannon Lay goes in the best classic singer-songwriter direction with 'Rare To Wake'.

Remember Sports have hidden a laid-back indie-gem 'Out Loud' on their new album; Dope Purple go beautifully psychedelic on 'Evilness'; Arcade Fire's violinist Sarah Neufeld announces her new album with hypnotic 'The Top'; Royal Blood share straight-rock 'Boilermaker', made with the help of QOTSa's Josh Homme; Girl In Red endures consequences of love on 'You Stupid Bitch'; Brooklyn rappers AKAI SOLO and Navy Blue announced a joint album with 'Incursio Fur', indie-rap New York style.