Writings in the hall
January 19, 2023

Sade and Snoop Dogg inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Sade/Snoop Dogg

Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Sade, Jeff Lynne, Glen Ballard, Teddy Riley and Liz Rose have been chosen to join the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Snoop Dogg, whose hits include 'Drop It Like It’s Hot' and 'Gin & Juice', is one of the icons of hip-hop. Soul-jazz vocalist Sade's 1980s soft rock hits include 'Smooth Operator' and 'The Sweetest Taboo'. Lynne, of ELO, penned 'Mr. Blue Sky' and 'Evil Woman'. Estefan is credited for popularizing Latin rhythms with such crossover smashes as 'Rhythm Is Gonna Get You' and 'Let’s Get Loud'. Ballard helped write Alanis Morissette’s monster 1995 album 'Jagged Little Pill' and was involved in the recording and writing of several Michael Jackson albums, including 'Thriller', 'Bad' and 'Dangerous'. Riley, the singer, songwriter and producer, is credited with creating New Jack Swing and its top anthems like Bobby Brown’s 'My Prerogative' and Keith Sweat’s 'I Want Her'. Rose co-wrote many songs with Taylor Swift, including 'You Belong with Me', 'Teardrops on My Guitar' and 'White Horse'. The seven songwriters from the class of 2023 will be inducted at a gala June 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.